2017 nominations are now closed.

Please join us on March 10 when we reveal the winner!

SLRI is pleased to accept nominations for the 2017 Wilfred Berube Award for Administrative Excellence. This award was initiated in 2000 to honor the memory of Wilfred Berube, the founder of the Rhode Island Educational Media Association (or RIEMA, now known as SLRI). The award is given to an outstanding Rhode Island K-12 school administrator who has provided considerable and sustained support to the development or enhancement of school library media programs in general and/or who regularly exhibits direct and positive support for and involvement with the library program at his or her school.

Who is eligible for this award? Any currently serving Rhode Island K-12 school administrator

Who may nominate for this award? Any current SLRI member in good standing may make one nomination per school year

When will the award be announced? At the SLRI Annual Conference on March 10, 2017

What form does the award take? Esteemed recognition on behalf of SLRI and a custom plaque. The winning administrator also will be invited to attend the Annual Conference as our honored guest.

Selection Criteria: 

  • The applicant submitting the nomination must be an SLRI member in good standing
  • The nominee must currently serve as a Rhode Island K-12 school administrator in a public, private, or charter school
  • The application must show that the nominee has provided considerable and sustained support to the development or enhancement of school library media program(s) at the school or district level, with substantial evidence of direct and positive involvement with the library's programs, services, and patrons

Submission Guidelines: 

  • Submissions must be received electronically by February 20, 2017
  • Descriptions of the winning entry may be posted to the SLRI website
  • Incomplete, illegible, or late entries will be disqualified
  • At least 3 readers will review each application using the attached rubric
  • The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence as defined by the criteria and rubric posted above; SLRI reserves the right to withhold the award if submissions do not meet these requirements

To submit a nomination by the February 20 deadline, click the submission form link below, providing concrete examples to support this nomination. For questions about this award or about the nomination process, please send an email to slri.awards@gmail.com with “Berube Award” in the subject line. 

Due to time constraints, no mail-in nomination forms will be available. All nominations must be made online using the linked form below.

The SLRI Awards Committee thanks you for your time and careful consideration of nominees and for your enthusiasm in sharing their support of school library programs and services.

Previous Recipients:

2017-Principal Beth Cauley, Principal, George R. Hanaford Elementary School, East Greenwich, RI

2016-Dr. Patrick McGee, Superintendent, Woonsocket School District, Woonsocket, RI

2015-Michael Crudale, Principal, Park View Middle School, Cranston, RI

2011-Daniel Kelley, Smithfield High School, Smithfield, RI

2010-Dr. Davida Irving, Capt. Isaac Paine Elementary School, Foster, RI

2008-Armand Pires, McCourt Middle School, Cumberland, RI

2007-Dr. Fran Gallo, Former Providence Public Schools Administrator

2005-Dr. Arlene Chorney, RI Training School, Cranston, RI

2003-John Pini, Superintendent of Chariho Regional School District

2002-Ralph A. Malafronte, Superintendent of Barrington Public Schools

2001-Dr. Douglas Greenberg, B. Jae Clanton Complex, Providence, RI

2000-David Andrews, Principal, Narragansett High School, Narragansett, RI

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software