Linda Aldrich Leadership Award

The Linda Aldrich Leadership Award honors the life of Linda Aldrich, library media specialist at Bristol High School and vice-chairperson of the Middletown School Committee when she died in 1989. She was admired and respected because she believed and advocated that being active and involved was the essence of life. The award is given to someone who brings these qualities to the library profession. 

Who is eligible for this award? Any current SLRI member in good standing (current SLRI Executive Board members--officers, immediate past president, standing committee chairs, members-at-large--are not eligible for this award)

Who may nominate for this award? Any current SLRI member in good standing may make one nomination per school year

When will the award be announced? At the RILA Annual Conference in May 2019

What form does the award take? Esteemed recognition on behalf of SLRI and a customized token of appreciation

Submission Guidelines: 

  • The 2019 submission deadline has passed
  • Descriptions of the winning entry may be posted to the SLRI website
  • Incomplete, illegible, or late entries will be disqualified
  • The application must show that the nominee has demonstrated the leadership qualities, commitment, and involvement in the library profession as exemplified by Linda Aldrich
  • At least 3 readers will review each application using the attached rubric
  • The purpose of this award is to recognize excellence as defined by the criteria and rubric posted above; SLRI reserves the right to withhold the award if submissions do not meet these requirements

  • Please note that award eligibility, application, selection, and submission criteria may be changed at the discretion of the SLRI Awards Chair and/or the SLRI Executive Board.

Any questions about this award or about the application process may be emailed to with “Aldrich Award” in the subject line. 

Previous Recipients:

2012-Jackie Lamoureux
2007-Dorothy Frechette
2006-Phyllis Humphrey
2004-Holly Barton
2002-Livia Giroux
2001-Joe Light
2000-Donna Good
1999-Barbara Ashby
1998-Connie Malinowski Zack
1997 -Karen Shore
1996-Susan Bryan
1995-Bette Dion
1994-Margaret Bierden
1993-Linda Wood
1992-George Donovan, Michael Mello, Paul Venancio
1991-Dr. Patricia Jensen
1990-Louis Leveillee

1989-Harriet Lapointe

Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management